Day: April 15, 2014

NHL Officials Selected for First Round of Stanley Cup Playoffs

It’s playoff time! Below are the officials selected to work the first round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs! Referees Francis Charron (#6) Paul Devorski (#10) Gord Dwyer (#19) Eric Furlatt (#27) Dave Jackson (#8) Mark Joannette (#25) Steve Kozari (#40) Chris Lee (#28) Wes McCauley (#4) Brad Meier (#34) Dean Morton (#36) Dan O’Halloran (#13) Dan O’Rourke (#9) Tim Peel (#20) Kevin Pollock (#33) Chris Rooney (#5) Francois St. Laurent (#38) Justin St. Pierre (#12) Kelly Sutherland (#11) Brad Watson (#23) Linesmen Derek Amell (#75) Steve Barton (#59) David Brisebois (#96) Lonnie Cameron (#74) Scott Cherrey (#50) Michel Cormier...

Read More

Sedin Injured on Hit from Behind; No Suspension Expected

The Vancouver Canucks couldn’t wait for the season to end.  Unfortunately for them, the final game of 2013-14 had one more injury to inflict on the club. Forward Daniel Sedin was taken off the ice on a stretcher after a hit from behind by Calgary’s Paul Byron.  The Flames forward was given a five-minute major for boarding and a game misconduct by referees Rob Martell (#26) and Steve Kozari (#40). With both the Canucks and Flames packed up and sent home for the year, any supplemental discipline would be tacked on to the start of the 2014-15 season. On the bright side, it looked like Sedin’s injury wasn’t as devastating as it appeared. “I believe Daniel is okay. I’m not going to comment on the hit. No sense.” – Torts — Vancouver Canucks (@VanCanucks) April 14, 2014 “I believe he’s okay. He did go to the hospital, [as a] precautionary [measure], and the last report I got is he is okay,” Canucks coach John Tortorella said. “You’re concerned about the guy. I’m glad he’s okay. When I saw him first go down, it scared me a little bit. That’s the most important thing, it’s not about the damn game, it’s about the kid, but we’ve gotten really good reports.” The Canucks went on to say that Sedin was taken “in stable condition to Vancouver General Hospital to undergo further...

Read More

Flyers’ Hartnell Fined for Spearing Hurricanes’ Bellemore

The Flyers will have Scott Hartnell in the lineup for their first-round playoff matchup against the New York Rangers. A spearing major near the end of Sunday’s game has resulted in nothing more than a fine from the league. Philadelphia Flyers forward Scott Hartnell has been fined $5,000 for spearing Carolina Hurricanes defenseman Brett Bellemore — NHL Player Safety (@NHLPlayerSafety) April 14, 2014 Philadelphia winger Scott Hartnell has been fined $5,000 for spearing the Carolina Hurricanes’ Brett Bellemore. Things got a little chippy with the Flyers trailing 4-3 midway through the third. Philadelphia, pressuring for the tying goal, crashed...

Read More

Baseball Replay Is Complicating Things

In a close Yankees/Red Sox battle on Saturday, Dean Anna slid into second. He lifted his foot of the bag – only briefly – while being tagged.  Anna was called safe on the field.  After a coach’s challenge, the replace was ruled inconclusive.  The call on the field stood. Only, the replays seemed to be pretty conclusive. The league later admitted that the review was incorrect and that the call should’ve been overturned. MLB did not have immediate access to conclusive angle on Anna play at second. Acknowledges that call should have been made differently. — Ken Rosenthal (@Ken_Rosenthal) April 12, 2014 “It’s extremely difficult to have any faith in the that’s being used,” Red Sox manager John Farrell said. Not only is it hard to have faith in the system.  It’s hard to even understand what exactly that system entails. What, precisely, is a catch? On the ESPN broadcast, John Kruk said Mike Napoli’s glove had to be closed before the ball could be considered secure. Farrell, on the other hand, said “we were instructed that when the ball enters the glove — not that it has to hit the back of the glove — is where the out is deemed complete.” There is similar confusion on whether or not a fielder has possession of a ball as he transfers it from his glove to his throwing hand,...

Read More

@ScoutingTheRefs