Blue Jackets winger Nick Foligno nearly gave the Columbus Blue Jackets an early one-goal lead in Monday night’s game against the Nashville Predators.

Referee Kelly Sutherland – with the help of the NHL’s Situation Room – denied him.

Veteran referee Kelly Sutherland called upstairs for a second opinion on the play.  Replays confirmed the timing of the shot relative to the net being bumped. From the NHL:

At 1:16 of the first period in the Nashville Predators/Columbus Blue Jackets game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Nashville net. Video review determined that the net became displaced before Nick Foligno shot the puck into the net.

According to Rule 78.5 (x) “Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the referee when the net becomes displaced accidentally. The goal frame is considered to be displaced if either or both goal pegs are no longer in their respective holes in the ice, or the net has come completely off one or both pegs, prior to or as the puck enters the net“.

No goal Columbus

Tough one for the Blue Jackets, but it’s the right call.  Rinne appeared to unintentionally knock the net off its moorings.  As he slid to his left, he reacted to Foligno cutting in front of the net. In an attempt to stop and change directions, his left skate hit the post and dislodged the net.

There is a rule – 63.6 – that does allow for a goal when the net is off its pegs.  The player must be in the act of shooting or have already shot the puck at the time the net was displaced.  In this case, the net was off prior to Foligno taking his shot on goal, so that particular rule doesn’t apply.

Accidential?  Likely.  Unfortunate?  Yes, at least for the Nick Foligno and the Columbus Blue Jackets.