A potentially-missed call kept the Wild from sealing their victory with an empty net goal.  Instead, the Avalanche tied the game seconds later (after a missed offside play) and went on to win in overtime.

With Avs’ netminder Semyon Varlamov on the bench, the Wild looked to end the night with an empty netter. After they cleared the defensive zone, Minnesota’s Charlie Coyle raced for the puck with the vacated goal in his sights. On his way, his progress was impeded – call it a hold, call it interference – by Colorado’s Andre Benoit.

Wild/Sharks - Missed Holding Call (@myregularface)

(via @myregularface)

As the play moved up ice, the Avs entered the zone. You make the call: was it offside?

Wild/Sharks - Offside?

(via @myregularface)

Here’s the official rule (Rule 83.1 – Off-side):

The position of the player’s skates and not that of his stick shall be the determining factor in all instances in deciding an off-side.

A player is off-side when both skates are completely over the leading edge of the blue line involved in the play. A player is on-side when either of his skates are in contact with, or on his own side of the line, at the instant the puck completely crosses the leading edge of the blue line regardless of the position of his stick.  

Stastny’s skate was not in contact with, but was over the plane of the blue line at the time the puck entered the zone.  It’s a close one to call at full speed.


Those two ‘breaks’ for the Colorado Avalanche gave them the opportunity to tie the game and go on to win it in overtime.

It’s a fast-paced game, and calls are missed all the time. It’s unfortunate for the officials when a controversial call (or non-call) leads to a game-deciding play.

Series supervisor Don Van Massenhoven probably had a lengthy conversation with the crew after the game. Referees were Brad Meier (#34) and Kelly Sutherland (#11). Linesmen were Steve Barton (#59) and Pierre Racicot (#65).

Follow us on Twitter – @scoutingtherefs