With the NHL All-Star Game in the books, the attention now turns to the American Hockey League‘s midseason classic.   This season’s game is being held at War Memorial Coliseum in Syracuse, New York.   

AHL All-Star Game

Like the NHL, the AHL has decided to change things up a bit. This year’s game will include a mini-tournament, with seven games slated. Each divisional team will play a nine-minute game against the others. The two teams with the best records will move on to the championship game.  During the round-robin tourney, teams will skate four-on-four for the first half of each game, switching to three-on-three for the final half.  The championship game will be six minutes of three-on-three play.   (Here’s a helpful infographic from the AHL to explain it all)

Here are the officials for the 2016 AHL All-Star Game:


Dave Lewis (#46) – Lewis is currently an AHL/NHL referee with 37 NHL games under his belt, 13 of them coming this season.  Lewis spent time in the OMHA, OHA, OHL, ECHL, and AHL before making his NHL debut on October 9, 2013.  

Geno Binda (#22) – Binda is in his eighth AHL season, having worked his first game in March 2009. He also worked the 2010 ECHL All-Star Game. 


Peter Feola (#33) – In addition to his duties in the AHL, Feola manned the lines for the 2010 Vancouver Olympics. 

Jeff Walker (#28) – Walker and Feola are both long-time linesmen in the AHL.  


Congratulations to Lewis, Binda, Feola, and Walker on their selections.