Congratulations to Canada on winning the 2015 Spengler Cup.  Team Canada defeated Swiss club HC Lugano by a score of 4-3, wrapping up a perfect 4-0 record for the Canadians in the tournament.  This is Canada’s 13th Spengler Cup win, their first since 2012.

The gold medal game of the 89th Spengler Cup tournament took on a decidedly NHL flavor.  The Canadian club was led by four former NHLers on the scoresheet — Keaton Ellerby, Derek Roy, Tom Pyatt and Matt D’Agostino all scored in the victory.  

Even the referees both had NHL experience.  Current NHL referee Greg Kimmerly and former NHL referee Marcus Vinnerborg worked the gold medal game.  Vinnerborg officiated in the NHL from 2010-2012, handling 40 NHL games and 150 AHL games including playoffs.  Linesmen for the game were Swiss officials Cedric Borga and Michael Tscherrig. 



The two teams combined for 18 penalty minutes, with 12 for Canada and six for HC Lugano.  The only power play goal of the game was posted by HC Lugano. 

One incident in the third period of the gold medal game resulted in multiple penalties as well as a fine assessed after the game: 

HC Lugano’s Lorenz Kienzle has received a fine of 500 CHF from the Spengler Cup’s disciplinary committee after an outburst against Team Canada’s Chris DiDomenico in today’s final.

After an incident in the third period, Kienzle received a penalty for cross-checking while his Canadian opponent received one for diving. Kienzle then not only used various swearwords against his opponent but also uttered a death threat. This utterance is not allowed according to the IIHF rules. As the Spengler Cup uses these IIHF rules, DiDomenico will not be fined for the diving incident. Kienzle, on the other hand, will have to pay CHF 500.