The New York Rangers scored the game-tying goal on a puck that was deflected by a stick above the crossbar…

Which was perfectly legal on this play.

A shot from Blueshirts blueliner Ryan Lindgren was deflected in front by New York winger Brendan Lemieux. The puck bounced off goaltender Tuukka Rask. Kevin Rooney was there to bat the puck out of the air and into the net.



Rask immediately gestured to the referee that the puck was played with a high stick.

How high, though?

On a goal, the puck must be deflected at or below crossbar-height.  Rask saved that deflection, though.

When playing the puck, the stick must be below shoulder height – which it was – therefore, no stoppage on the play.

Referee Kelly Sutherland discussed the play with linesman Tony Sericolo to confirm the initial call on the ice before checking in with the Situation Room on the video review.

From Rule 80:

Batting the puck above the normal height of the shoulders with a stick is prohibited. When a puck is struck with a high stick and subsequently comes into the possession and control of a player from the offending team (including the player who made contact with the puck), either directly or deflected off any player or official, there shall be a whistle.

When an attacking player causes the puck to enter the opponent’s goal by contacting the puck above the height of the crossbar, either directly or deflected off any player or official, the goal shall not be allowed. The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick at or below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal
shall be allowed.

Rooney’s stick was clearly below the crossbar when he scored.

Quick review. Good goal.