Dallas Stars center Jason Dickinson thought he had tied Game 4 at 4-4, until a Coach’s Challenge from the Calgary Flames wiped the goal off the scoreboard.

Corey Perry headed to the net, ending up behind goaltender Cam Talbot and making contact with the Calgary netminder.



Referee Marc Joannette delivered the league’s decision: no goal on the play due to incidental contact.

The NHL Rulebook covers Goaltender Interference in Rule 69:

The overriding rationale of this rule is that a goalkeeper should have the ability to move freely within his goal crease without being hindered by the actions of an attacking player. If an attacking player enters the goal crease and, by his actions, impairs the goalkeeper’s ability to defend his goal, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed.

69.3 Contact Inside the Goal Crease – If an attacking player initiates contact with a goalkeeper, incidental or otherwise, while the goalkeeper is in his goal crease, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed.

There’s no question Perry was in the blue paint, and that his presence prevented Talbot from playing his position.

From the NHL:

It was determined Dallas’ Corey Perry had a significant presence in the crease and made incidental contact with goaltender Cam Talbot that impaired his ability to play his position prior to Jason Dickinson’s goal.

The decision was made in accordance with Rule 69.1, which states in part, “Goals should be disallowed only if: (1) an attacking player, either by his positioning or by contact, impairs the goalkeeper’s ability to move freely within his crease or defend his goal.”