Linesman Pat Richardson has been named the 2018-19 winner of the ECHL’s Ryan Birmingham Memorial Award.

The award, which is given to an on-ice official in recognition of his contributions and dedication to the league officiating staff, is voted on by the ECHL’s referees and linesmen.

“What an incredible honor it is to receive the 2018-19 Ryan Birmingham Memorial Award,” Richardson said. “I would first like to say thank you to my fellow officials for selecting me to receive this distinguished award. There are so many talented and successful officials in the ECHL, to be selected for this award is truly special to me.”

“Thank you to my parents, Kevin and Melissa, for supporting me on this journey that began so many years ago,” he continued. “To my fianceé, Jeran – who has spent many years by my side, at home and in the rink – there are not enough words to describe how thankful I am for your love and support. I’d like to recognize all of the individuals who have supported me over the years and made this journey possible, Mr. Kelly, Joe Ernst and Stephen Thomson. I can’t thank you all enough for allowing me the opportunity to work in the ECHL. The passion and loyalty you all show to this league is unmatched and second to none.”

From the ECHL:

The 2018-19 season is Richardson’s sixth as an ECHL linesman. He is currently working the Kelly Cup Finals for the fourth time in his career (2015, 2016, 2018 and 2019) and also worked the 2016 ECHL Hockey Heritage Classic in Kalamazoo. He is also a linesman for the American Hockey League and the International Ice Hockey Federation and was selected to work the 2018 USA Hockey All-American Prospects Game in St. Paul, Minnesota. Prior to joining the ECHL, Richardson worked in the United States Hockey League, where he earned two Clark Cup Finals assignments (2012 and 2013) in addition to working the 2012 USHL/NHL Top Prospects Game in Muskegon, Michigan.

“I would like to congratulate Pat on being this year’s recipient of the Ryan Birmingham Award,” said ECHL Manager of Officiating Stephen Thomson. “This award is voted on by his peers and they couldn’t have selected a better teammate.”

“Pat is selfless in his efforts to make everyone around him better and shows up to the rink and gives 100 percent every night. This is another great accomplishment that Pat can add to skating three Kelly Cup Finals and the ECHL Hockey Heritage Classic. I would also like to personally thank Pat for his efforts and contributions to the ECHL Officiating Team.”

The ECHL’s officiating award is named after linesman Ryan Birmingham, who lost his life in an automobile accident in May 2007.  Birmingham began his officiating career when he was 12 years old in the Southgate Minor Hockey Association and worked his way into the USA Hockey Junior Officiating Development Program in 2003. Birmingham was hired as a full-time linesman by the ECHL in 2006 and worked 83 games in the regular season and four games in the Kelly Cup Playoffs, including his final game, Florida at Charlotte, on April 17, 2007.


Ryan Birmingham Memorial Award Winners
2018-19 – Patrick Richardson

2017-18 – Charlie O’Connor
2016-17 – Scott DeBaugh
2015-16 – Camden Nuckols & Oliver “Butch” Mousseaux
2014-15 – Scott Senger
2013-14 – Travis Jackson
2012-13 – Brad Phillips
2011-12 – Jason Rollins
2010-11 – Paul Carnathan
2009-10 – Ray King
2008-09 – Michel Voyer
2007-08 – David Jones



(Image courtesy ECHL)