The National Hockey League has announced the 20 referees and 20 linesmen taking the ice for the 2019 Stanley Cup Playoffs.



Francis Charron, Gord Dwyer, Eric Furlatt, Trevor Hanson, Jean Hebert, Marc Joannette, Steve Kozari, Chris Lee, Wes McCauley, Jon McIsaac, Brad Meier, Dan O’Halloran, Dan O’Rourke, Tim Peel, Brian Pochmara, Kevin Pollock, Kyle Rehman, Chris Rooney, Francois St. Laurent, and Kelly Sutherland.

Standby referees for the first round are Garrett Rank and Graham Skilliter

In from 2018:  Chris Lee, Jon McIsaac

Out from 2018: Brad Watson (retired), Ian Walsh



Derek Amell, Steve Barton, Devin Berg, Scott Cherrey, Michel Cormier, Ryan Daisy, Greg Devorski, Ryan Gibbons, Trent Knorr, Brad Kovachik, Matt MacPherson, Steve Miller, Kiel Murchison, Brian Murphy, Jonny Murray, Bryan Pancich, Pierre Racicot,  Mark Shewchyk, Tony Sericolo, and Andrew Smith

Standby linesmen for the opening round are Darren Gibbs and Libor Suchanek 

In from 2018: Ryan Daisy, Bryan Pancich, Andrew Smith

Out from 2018: David Brisebois, Darren Gibbs, Derek Nansen



Referee Jon McIsaac is making his playoff debut; he was a standby referee during the 2018 Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Linesmen Ryan Daisy and Andrew Smith are working their first postseason.

Who’s Missing

Referees not taking part in this year’s playoffs include: Jake Brenk, Tom Chmielewski, Ghislain Hebert, Frederick L’Ecuyer, Pierre Lambert, TJ Luxmore, Dean Morton, Kendrick Nicholson, Garrett Rank, Justin St. Pierre, Graham Skilliter, and Ian Walsh.  Linesmen on the sidelines are Shandor Alphonso, David Brisebois, Scott Driscoll, Ryan Galloway, Brandon Gawryletz, Travis Gawryletz, Darren Gibbs, Brian Mach, Bevan Mills, Kory Nagy, Derek Nansen, and Vaughan Rody. Lambert, Schlenker, and Suchanek, all in their first full seasons as NHL officials, were not expected to work this year’s playoffs.

Retired officials Brad Watson, Lonnie Cameron, and Tim Nowak are out for the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

The officials splitting time between the AHL and NHL – referees Reid Anderson, Brandon Blandina, Mitch Dunning, Beau Halkidis, Peter MacDougall, Conor O’Donnell, Brandon Schrader, Furman South, and Corey Syvret, along with linesmen Tyson Baker, Jesse Marquis, Bevan Mills, and James Tobias – are also off the playoff roster. Look for them to be working in the AHL’s Calder Cup Playoffs.


Postseason Paychecks

Officials, like players, earn their paychecks for their regular season work. NHL Referees and linesmen, though, get a bonus for working the playoffs.

From the previous NHLOA CBA which ran through 2014, referees earned $18,250 per round worked, while linesmen picked up an additional $12,100 per round. We anticipate that has increased in the most recent agreement.

Standby officials earned $900 for referees and $600 for linesmen, with a bump to $2,450 or $1,650, respectively, if they were called into duty and had to work a game.


NHL Series Supervisors

For the playoffs, a series supervisor will be assigned to each playoff series. Nearly all are former NHL referees working as Officiating Managers. Here’s the assignments for the opening round:

  • Lightning vs. Blue Jackets – Paul Devorski*
  • Bruins vs. Maple Leafs – Mike Murphy
  • Capitals vs. Hurricanes – Don Koharski*
  • Islanders vs. Penguins – Rob Shick*
  • Flames vs. Avalanche – Bill McCreary*
  • Sharks vs. Golden Knights – Don Van Massenhoven*
  • Predators vs. Stars – Rod Pasma
  • Jets vs. Blues – Kay Whitmore

   * Former NHL Referee


Congratulations to all the referees and linesmen selected to work the 2019 NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs