With less than eight minutes in regulation, Russian forward Pavel Datsyuk scored his second goal of the game to tie the Americans at two apiece.   A few minutes later, a point shot from defenseman Fedor Tyutin game the Russians the lead… or so they thought.

The referees signaled goal on the ice.   Goaltender Jonathan Quick voiced his complaint, gesturing to the left post.  The officials went upstairs for another look.  Per IIHF rules, the play is eligible for video review:

ANNEX 10: VIDEO REPLAY POLICIES AND PROCEDURES
2.  To determine if the puck entered the net prior to or after the goal frame was dislodged.

Initially, it appeared that the goal was being reviewed to determine if it was deflected by a high stick on the way in.  It wasn’t, as the Russian player’s deflection attempt missed the puck.

The goal was disallowed when it was noted that the puck had come off its moorings.

USA vs Russia - Quick Knocks Net Off Moorings

(via @PeteBlackburn)

Here’s the IIHF rulebook:

RULE 471 – DISALLOWING A GOAL – Interpretation

1. No goal shall be allowed if the goal net is off its moorings at the time the puck enters the goal net or crosses the goal line

The IIHF even went so far as to post an official ruling on the Sochi website.

Quick wasn’t sure when the net was dislodged, saying, “I saw it was off. I didn’t know if it was before the puck went in – right after they scored, a guy skated through the crease. I didn’t know if he bumped it.”

For what it’s worth, in the NHL, this would’ve have been a good goal.  Check out rule 63.6 in the NHL rulebook:

63.6 Awarded Goal – In the event that the goal post is displaced, either deliberately or accidentally, by a defending player, prior to the puck crossing the goal line between the normal position of the goalposts, the Referee may award a goal. In order to award a goal in this situation, the goal post must have been displaced by the actions of a defending player or goalkeeper, the puck must have been shot (or the player must be in the act of shooting) at the goal prior to the goal post being displaced, and it must be determined that the puck would have entered the net between the normal position of the goal posts.

In the NHL, though, the goal wouldn’t have been considered displaced:

The flexible pegs could be bent, but as long at least a portion of the flexible peg(s) are still in the hole in the ice and the goal post, the goal frame shall be deemed to be in its proper position.

Russian Response

The Russians were not happy.  The most direct protest came from Quick’s Los Angeles Kings teammate, Slava Voynov:

https://twitter.com/dchesnokov/status/434710094874701824

(Keep in mind that Quick has never been given a delay of game penalty for intentionally dislodging his net. )

“I do believe there was a mistake,” said Russian coach Zinetula Bilyaletdinov in his post-game press conference.

The voice of reason was former Soviet goaltender Vladislav Tretiak. “The rules are written in such a way that if the goal is moved even a little bit, the point is not counted,” Tretiak said. “And it was moved.”

Neither team scored again in regulation or overtime.  The US won in a shootout.

Referees for the game were Brad Meier (USA/NHL) and Marcus Vinnerborg (Sweden).