Oh, Tim Peel.  You’re a good guy.  You ‘re a good ref.   But, somehow, controversy just follows you around…  even to Sochi.   Today’s case: the in-and-out goal off the camera.

Latvian forward Janis Sprukts scored to tie the game against the Czech Republic, only nobody noticed — at least in an official capacity, despite Tim Peel being properly positioned just below the goal line.   Play continued for nearly 45 seconds before the whistle blew for a tripping penalty to Czech forward Martin Hanzal.  Off-ice officials reviewed the play during the break and awarded the goal to Sprukts.

Latvia/Czech Olympic Hockey - Sprukts Goal

Sprukts scores for Latvia (GIF via @cjzero)

Thankfully, the video replay officials had enough time to review the play before the puck drop, so as to avoid a repeat of what happened to the Japanese women vs. Russia.  The goal counted, tying the Latvians and Czechs at one apiece.  The clock also went back to the time of the goal.

But, wait — what about the penalty given to Czech forward Martin Hanzal?
If the clock went back to the time of the goal, can he still be given a penalty?

Not according to NHL rules, but the Olympics games are played under the IIHF rulebook:

ANNEX 10 – Video Replays

If a delayed penalty was to be assessed before the goal but play continues and a video replay determines a goal, then the penalty is washed out as it was to be  assessed before the goal. However, if the penalty was to be called after the goal  but before the stoppage of play then the penalty is to start at the reset time on the  game clock.

Sprukts currently suits up for the KHL’s Lokomotiv Yaroslavl.  A 2000 draft pick of the Florida Panthers, he scored one goal and added two assists in 14 games in the NHL.

The teams went on to trade goals befor Jakub Voracek put teh Czechs ahead for good midway through the second period.  They went on to win 4-2.