Colorado Avalanche head coach Jared Bednar was frustrated with the officials when play continued – and a goal was scored – after an apparent injury to goaltender Scott Wedgewood.
Colorado center Parker Kelly bumped Sabres forward Zach Benson into Wedgewood, landing on the goalkeeper’s right leg. The officials allowed play to continue since there was no goaltender interference on the play since the contact was caused by Kelly.
“The referee said [the whistle] wasn’t blown because we put their guy into Scott,” Bednar said. “I said, ‘I don’t give a s—. He’s hurt.’ They’re standing there. He’s sitting there. He’s hurt. Blow the whistle. If the puck is in the net-front still and they were hacking away at it and it goes in, I’d say fine. But as soon as the puck squirts to the corner, they’ve got to blow it dead. They do it all the time for regular players, because of player safety. The rule would state that we have to touch it. But they don’t follow that rule. They never follow that rule.”
Here’s the rule in question – 8.1 – which spells out stoppages due to injury:
When a player is injured so that he cannot continue play or go to his bench, the play shall not be stopped until the injured player’s team has secured control of the puck.
If the player’s team is in control of the puck at the time of injury, play shall be stopped immediately unless his team is in a scoring position.
In the case where it is obvious that a player has sustained a serious injury, the Referee and/or Linesperson may stop the play immediately.
Yes, Wedgewood appears to be injured on the play. If the Avs had possession, the whistle would’ve blown immediately.
“If he’s hurt and he’s not getting up, and they can evaluate that, and they’re standing right there looking at it, the whistle should go,” Bednar added. “It’s just that simple. For them to just let it go and then allow the goal is insanity to me.”
The Avs challenged the play – unsuccessfully – for goaltender interference.
This is very similar to situations where a goaltender loses his mask. Even then, play is not stopped immediately. If the opposing team has an immediate scoring opportunity, they’ll play on, even if it means a mask-less goaltender has to face a 94-mile-per-hour slapshot from Connor McDavid.
We’ve even seen it with players. Five seasons ago, Colorado gave up a goal to the Vancouver Canucks while Matt Calvert was lying on the ice, bleeding. The teams played on.
“It’s not the refs’ fault,” Nathan Mackinnon said back then. “It’s just a league rule.”
The Colorado Avalanche went on to win the game 6-5 in overtime. Referees for the game were T.J. Luxmore (#21) and Corey Syvret (#23) with linespersons C.J. Murray (#68) and Kiel Murchison (#79).