Pittsburgh Pengins goaltender Tristan Jarry was injured when he was run into by Anaheim Ducks forward Adam Henrique with no penalty called on the play. 

Henrique, cutting across the top of the goal crease, ran into Jarry, bumping his mask.  A shot from Anaheim’s Ryan Strome appears to catch Jarry in the mask moments later.  The goaltender fell to the ice before exiting for evaluation, clearly bleeding from an injury to the face.



There was no penalty called on the play by refs Trevor Hanson and Brandon Schrader.   While it’s unfortunate that Jarry was injured, it did not appear that Henrique made contact intentionally, or that he was targeting the head.  Further, the contact took place outside of the blue paint. 

Since no goal was scored on the play, we’ll focus on the penalty portion of the goaltender interference rule (69.2): 

In all cases in which an attacking player initiates intentional or deliberate contact with a goalkeeper, whether or not the goalkeeper is inside or outside the goal crease, and whether or not a goal is scored, the attacking player will receive a penalty (minor or major, as the Referee deems appropriate). In all cases where the infraction being imposed is to the attacking player for hindering the goalkeeper’s ability to move freely in his goal crease, the penalty to be assessed is for goalkeeper interference.

Rule 69.4 covers more on contact outside the crease:

A goalkeeper is not “fair game” just because he is outside the goal crease. The appropriate penalty should be assessed in every case where an attacking player makes unnecessary contact with the goalkeeper. 

In this case, the officials clearly felt the contact was incidental, with both jockeying for position outside the crease. Henrique’s focus in on the puck, not on initiating contact with the goaltender.  While it’s unfortunate that there was an injury on the play – either from the initial bump or the subsequent shot to the helmet – it doesn’t appear that a penalty was necessarily warranted.

Even if Jarry’s mask came off completely, that wouldn’t mean an immediate stoppage in play.  With the Ducks pressing, play would be permitted to continue while the attacking team has an imminent scoring chance, under Rule 9.6:

When a goalkeeper has lost his helmet and/or face mask and his team has control of the puck, play shall be stopped immediately to allow the goalkeeper the opportunity to regain his helmet and/or face mask. When the opposing team has control of the puck, play shall only be stopped if there is no immediate and impending scoring opportunity.

Penguins head coach Mike Sullivan did not have an update on Jarry’s status after the game. 

“He’s being evaluated right now,” said Sullivan. “I don’t have any other updates other than that.”

The Penguins went on to win the game 2-0, with Jarry and goaltender Magnus Hellberg combining for the shutout. Referees were Trevor Hanson (#14) and Brandon Schrader (#34), with Mitch Hunt (#62) and Trent Knorr (#74) on lines.