The British Columbia Hockey League has announced the referees and linesmen officiating in the league for the 2023-24 season.


Shane Alyward, Adam Barish, Johnny Bennett, Ryan Blake, Steve Brown, Brady Casparie, Evan Dahl, Ryan Devries, Andre Gagnon, Cody Hall, Mateen Hessami, Owen Lohmeier, Jim Maniago, Chase McKay, Evan McKinnon, Kirin Moorman, Daniel Olfert, Jamie Pavia, Eric Ruschin, Thomas Spencer, Bronson Tazalaar, Ben Thast, Grant Tyson, Tyler Watson, Bobby Williamson, and Jordan Wood


Matt Caillet, Marko Casavant, Guy Chapdelaine, Josh Chernoff, Rob Connelly, Chase Eising, Braiden Epp, Brad Ewing, Dave Flanagan, Colleen Geddes, Calem Geddes, George Hogarth, Anthony Leardo, Justin Lucoe, Isaac McDonald, Brody Nelson, Jack Oakley, Liam Reid, Elliot Seigried, Aiden Small, Jake Townsend, Wyatt Trent, Matt Williams, and Christian Yip

Development Coaches

The BCHL officiating staff will be supported by a team with years of on-ice experience.  NHL referee Kelly Sutherland, former NHL linesmen Shane Heyer and Jay Sharrers, along with Big Ten Coordinator of Officials Steve Piotrowski will join the league as development coaches and mentors.

“I refereed in the BCHL during the 1990s for seven seasons and the experience I gathered in my time there was instrumental in my career path to the NHL,” said Sutherland. “The style and quality of play provided a great training ground as I pursued my goal of becoming an NHL referee. I look forward to helping out the BCHL officials throughout the upcoming season with any advice I can offer.”

Sutherland, Sharrers, and Heyer all spent time in the league. 

“The BCHL is where I got my start in junior hockey,” said Sharrers. “I think it’s a great league for young officials to work and develop their skillset. To be able to help out in the small way that I can is very rewarding and something I look forward to.”

The BCHL’s officiating experience extends into to the front office. Former NHL linesman Brad Lazarowich is the BCHL’s Vice President of Hockey Operations.

“We are thrilled to bring Kelly, Jay, Shane and Steve on board to work with our officials next year,” said Lazarowich. “We couldn’t ask for a more experienced and professional group. Our officials will learn a lot from them and it will help immensely with their development as they work to reach their goals in hockey.”


The BCHL has recently separated from Hockey Canada to become an independent league. Under current BC Hockey and Hockey Canada regulations, any officials that work BCHL games after September 30 will not be permitted to work in Hockey Canada-sanctioned leagues.