Federal Prospects Hockey League referee Bill Lyons has been the selected as the recipient of the 2022-23 Jim Hebermehl Memorial Award.

Lyons currently works in the FPHL, along with the American Hockey League and the NCAA DIII; he’s previously worked NCAA DI, the USHL, and internationally, taking part in four IIHF tournaments. 

This award honors an on-ice official for exhibiting the best conduct and sportsmanship throughout the season. It is in Honor of Jim Hebermehl, an off-ice official who displayed a level of sportsmanship, kindness, and compassion to all he encountered. Jim passed away Friday January 4th, 2019.


“I am honored to receive this year’s Jim Hebermehl Award,” Lyons told the FPHL. “Jim was an amazing ambassador of the game and I am humbled to be mentioned in the same sentence as him. I want to thank my family who have always supported me in my officiating pursuits, with a special thanks to my father Mike, who taught me the importance of respect and fair play in officiating. I also would like to thank FPHL Director of Officials Paul Jene for his support and coaching over the past few years.”

“Finally, I have to thank my fellow officials on the ice who went to battle with me every night, and who were all there to support me and encourage me after my season ending injury in mid February. I look forward to getting back on the ice with you all this coming season.”


FPHL Director of Officiating Paul Jene also commended Lyons for his dedication.

“Bill has been a pillar of excellence on our staff. Everyone is always happy to see him and we hardly ever heard any complaints which speaks volumes of an official. It was very unfortunate when he broke his leg but you always need to expect that anything can happen and just be ready when it does.”

“Even being ready for it doesn’t diminish the fact that you just lost a good guy for the remainder of the season – and he was having a great year – but staying positive through everything and working to get back shows his absolute love and dedication to what he does. We are very much looking forward to having Bill back next season!”


Prior recipients of the award:

  • 2019-2020: Linesman Scott Gillespie
  • 2021-2022: Linesman Isaac Kessler


Congratulations to Bill Lyons on this honor, and all the best on a speedy recovery!