USA Hockey has announced the officials selected to work the BioSteel All-American Game, which features the top American players eligible for the 2023 NHL Draft.

Referees Logan Gruhl and Jack Young will officiate alongside linesmen Michael Ifkovits and Davids Rozitis.

“These showcase events feature USA Hockey’s up-and-coming talent for not just players, but our officials as well,” said Matt Leaf, director of officiating education for USA Hockey. “These four officials represent the success of our officiating development program, and they have worked hard to earn this opportunity.”

From USA Hockey:

Gruhl has been an official since age 14, and in 2017 he joined the USA Hockey Officiating Development Program. He has previously officiated the 2018 Robertson Cup (NAHL), the 2019 Clark Cup Final (USHL), and most recently the 2022 Kelly Cup Conference Finals (ECHL). The Virginia native is in his third full-time season as an ECHL referee.

Young, a graduate of the USA Hockey Officiating Development Program, began as a linesman during the 2018-19 season before transitioning to a referee for the 2019-20 campaign. He has previously officiated the 2021 NA3HL and NAHL Top Prospect Tournaments, the 2019 and 2021 Fraser Cup Championships (NA3HL), the 2019 and 2021 Robertson Cup Finals (NAHL), the 2022 Under-17 Five Nations Tournament, and the 2023 IIHF Under-20 Men’s World Championship Division 1 Group A. Young is in his third season as an AHL referee, and his second as an ECHL referee.

All four officials are graduates of the USA Hockey Officiating Development Program and have experience officiating junior hockey in the NAHL.


The crew won’t be wearing just any old stripes.  A special game calls for some special sweaters.

The game, which will be broadcast on NHL Network, is slated for Monday, January 16, at USA Hockey Arena in Plymouth, Michigan.  Puck drop is at 4 p.m. Eastern.  We know the coaches, we know the players, and now we know who’ll be dropping the puck.

Congratulations to the officials selected to work the USA Hockey All-American Game!