Carolina Hurricanes forward Seth Jarvis left Game 7 against the New York Rangers after a hard hit from Jacob Trouba.


No penalty was called on the play by referees Wes McCauley and Chris Rooney.  Based on the circumstances of the hit – not interference, no charge on the play – the only possible penalty consideration would be for an Illegal Check to the Head (Rule 48):

Illegal Check to the Head – A hit resulting in contact with an opponent’s head where the head was the main point of contact and such contact to the head was avoidable is not permitted. In determining whether contact with an opponent’s head was avoidable, the circumstances of the hit including the following shall be considered:

(i) Whether the player attempted to hit squarely through the opponent’s body and the head was not “picked” as a result of poor timing, poor angle of approach, or unnecessary extension of the body upward or outward.

(ii) Whether the opponent put himself in a vulnerable position by assuming a posture that made head contact on an otherwise full body check unavoidable.

(iii) Whether the opponent materially changed the position of his body or head immediately prior to or simultaneously with the hit in a way that significantly contributed to the head contact.


While there may have been head contact on the play, the head did not appear to be the main point of contact.  It appeared that Jarvis was pitched forward having just moved the puck, putting himself in a dangerous spot.  While the onus is on Trouba to deliver a legal hit, it did not initially appear he was targeting the head.

Trouba did look to deliver a hit through the body, taking a path that would result in a legal body check. One that resulted in an unfortunate outcome.

Jarvis was injured on the play. The Athletic’s Sara Civian reported that he would not return to the game.

It’s not the first time a big hit from Trouba has drawn additional scrutiny. A hard hit by Trouba on Max Domi in Game 4 prompted a response by Carolina’s Steven Lorentz who picked up an instigator penalty and a misconduct along with fighting majors to both players. Referee Wes McCauley, who officiated that game, returned for Game 7.  Lorentz has been a healthy scratch since.

Trouba also leveled Pittsburgh Penguins captain Sidney Crosby in Round 1 with a hit that resulted in no penalty or supplemental discipline.  McCauley also officiated that one.


The NHL’s Department of Player Safety will be reviewing the play, though, at this point, we’re not expecting any disciplinary action for the hit.