The International Ice Hockey Federation has announced the officials for the 2022 IIHF World Championship.

This year’s Championship will be held in Finland, with games played in Tampere and Helsinki later this month.  Two teams, Austria and France, have been added to replace Belarus and Russia, who were restricted from taking part in the tournament.  Both added countries – along with twelve other nations – will also be represented in stripes.

The IIHF referees and linesmen for this year’s tournament:



Andris Ansons (Latvia)
Pierre DeHaen (France)
Mads Frandsen (Denmark)
Roy Stian Hansen (Norway)
Lasse Heikkinen (Finland)
Jeff Ingram (Canada)
Fraser Lawrence (Canada)
Sean MacFarlane (USA)
Mikael Nord (Sweden)
Linus Ohlund (Sweden)
Jacob Rekucki (USA)
Marian Rohatsch (Germany)
Robin Sir (Czechia)
Peter Stano (Slovakia)
Miroslav Stolc (Switzerland)
Kristian Vikman (Finland)


Daniel Beresford (Great Britain)
Nick Briganti (USA)
Maxime Chaput (Canada)
Nicolas Constantineau (France)
Jake Davis (USA)
Andreas Weise Kroyer (Denmark)
Jonas Merten (Germany)
Tommi Niittyla (Finland)
David Obwegeser (Switzerland)
Elias Seewald (Austria)
Josef Spur (Czechia)
Hannu Sormunen (Finland)
Simon Synek (Slovakia)
Nathan Van Oosten (Canada)
Emil Yletyinen (Sweden)
Davis Zunde (Latvia)

Referee Linus Ohlund and linesman David Obwegeser recently worked the 2022 Winter Olympics in Beijing.

Sixteen of this year’s officials also handled the 2021 World Championship. Returning are referees Ansons, Frandsen, Heikkenen, Nord, Sir, Stano, and Vikman; linesman back for a second consecutive Worlds are Constantineau, Kroyer, Merten, Obwegeser, Seewald, Sormunen, Synek, Yletyinen, and Zunde.

Referee Peter Stano is working his third straight World Championship, while linesman Hannu Sormunen is making his fifth consecutive trip to the IIHF Worlds.

The Preliminary Round gets under way on May 13, with the Gold Medal Game slated for May 29.

Congratulations to the officials selected to work the 2022 IIHF Men’s World Championship.