Our latest rule question comes from Saturday’s game between the Tampa Bay Lightning and the Montreal Canadiens:
Hi @ScoutingTheRefs, is a player allowed to pick up the goalie’s stick, skate with it, and hand it to goalie?
I thought there’s a rule that a player can’t have two sticks during play. pic.twitter.com/QESmvpeP96
— Chris G (@ChrisHabs360) April 3, 2022
Montreal Canadiens goaltender Jake Allen lost his stick after contact with Tampa’s Brayden Point, who drove to the net on the power play. With the puck cleared around the boards – though still controlled by the Bolts – Habs defenseman David Savard picked up Allen’s stick and returned it to him.
For a moment, Savard was carrying two sticks. Is this legal?
Yes. A player is permitted to carry two sticks, provided he doesn’t attempt to take part in the play. From Rule 10.6:
A player who participates in the play (i.e. checks or prevents the movement of an opponent or who plays the puck) while carrying two sticks (including while taking a replacement stick to his goalkeeper) shall incur a minor penalty under this rule.
Savard played it perfectly. He was able to bail out his goaltender without impacting the play. Well done — and solid awareness of the rulebook on his part to know that was legal.
The Montreal Canadiens went on to win the game 5-4 in a shootout. Referees were Jon McIsaac and Brian Pochmara; linesmen were Caleb Apperson and Bevan Mills.