Our latest rule question comes from Saturday’s game between the Tampa Bay Lightning and the Montreal Canadiens:

Montreal Canadiens goaltender Jake Allen lost his stick after contact with Tampa’s Brayden Point, who drove to the net on the power play.  With the puck cleared around the boards – though still controlled by the Bolts – Habs defenseman David Savard picked up Allen’s stick and returned it to him.

For a moment, Savard was carrying two sticks.   Is this legal?

Yes. A player is permitted to carry two sticks, provided he doesn’t attempt to take part in the play.  From Rule 10.6:

A player who participates in the play (i.e. checks or prevents the movement of an opponent or who plays the puck) while carrying two sticks (including while taking a replacement stick to his goalkeeper) shall incur a minor penalty under this rule. 

Savard played it perfectly.  He was able to bail out his goaltender without impacting the play.   Well done — and solid awareness of the rulebook on his part to know that was legal.


The Montreal Canadiens went on to win the game 5-4 in a shootout. Referees were Jon McIsaac and Brian Pochmara; linesmen were Caleb Apperson and Bevan Mills.