Well, that was an interesting way to end things. A double review was needed to confirm the Chicago Blackhawks’ overtime game-winning goal against the Montreal Canadiens on Thursday.

Blackhawks forward Philipp Kurashev was sprung for a breakaway midway through the extra session. Canadiens forward Mike Hoffman hit Kurashev. Hoffman’s momentum carried him into the goal frame, dislodging the net and bowling over goaltender Sam Montembeault.  Kurashev, taken out on the play, also collided with the goal post as the puck slid across the goal line.



Referees Dean Morton and Brian Pochmara discussed the play before connecting with the league’s Situation Room.  The NHL reviews all goals to ensure the puck enter the net legally; in overtime, they also review any play that would be eligible for a Coach’s Challenge, including offside and goaltender interference.

“After reviewing the play, it was determined that the puck did completely cross the line between the normal position of the posts, therefore, we have a good goal,” referee Dean Morton announced.

Rule 63.7 covers this play, which ultimately resulted in an awarded goal.

In the event that the goal post is displaced, either deliberately or accidentally, by a defending player, prior to the puck crossing the goal line between the normal position of the goalposts, the Referee may award a goal.

In order to award a goal in this situation, the goal post must have been displaced by the actions of a defending player, the attacking player must have an imminent scoring opportunity prior to the goal post being displaced, and it must be determined that the puck would have entered the net between the normal position of the goal posts

One review down. One to go.

“The play is now going to be under official review to determine if it was offside at the line,” Morton advised.

Linesmen Kyle Flemington and C.J. Murray donned the headsets to confer with the review team.

Kurashev clearly preceded the puck into the attacking zone.  In some cases, though, you can do that.  From Rule 83.1:

A player actually controlling the puck who shall cross the line ahead of the puck shall not be considered “off-side,” provided he had possession and control of the puck prior to his skates crossing the  leading edge of the blue line.

The NHL’s Situation Room ruled that Kurashev had possession and control of the puck as he entered the zone.  That onside determination is made at the moment Kurashev’s skates completely cross the blue line — not when the puck clears the line in this case.


Chicago won the game 3-2.

Referees were Dean Morton (#36) and Brian Pochmara (#16). Linesmen were Kyle Flemington (#55) and C.J. Murray (#68)