When is a high stick not a high stick…?

New York Islanders forward Matt Barzal left Tuesday’s game after taking a high stick from Philadelphia’s Claude Giroux.

No penalty was called on the play by referees Chris Lee and Francis Charron.

That was the right call.  Here’s the rule:

60.1 High-sticking – A “high stick” is one which is carried above the height of the opponent’s shoulders. Players must be in control and responsible for their stick.

However, a player is permitted accidental contact on an opponent if the act is committed as a normal windup or follow through of a shooting motion, or accidental contact on the opposing center who is bent over during the course of a face-off.

A wild swing at a bouncing puck would not be considered a normal windup or follow through and any contact to an opponent above the height of the shoulders shall be penalized accordingly.

Clearly, Giroux hit Barzal on the follow-through of his shot.

The play happened right in front of referee Chris Lee, who made the right call — no penalty on the play.

Good call, ref!