The Coach’s Challenge is proving to be quite a challenge for the Carolina Hurricanes’ coaching staff this postseason.
For the second time in two games, coach Rod Brind’Amour’s club found themselves on the losing end of a challenge.
In Game 2, Carolina had the potential go-ahead goal wiped out due to goaltender interference.
Referee Wes McCauley immediately waved off the goal, gesturing to indicate that there was interference with Boston goaltender Tuukka Rask.
The Canes challenged the call, feeling that the contact with the goaltender was the result of a Boston defender, and that the goal should count.
While defenseman Torey Krug clearly pushed Carolina’s Teuvo Teravainen into the goalie, the onus is on Teravainen to avoid or minimize contact. Even if the initial bump were to be permissible, Teravainen’s elbow contacted Rask’s head, further interfering with the goaltender’s ability to play his position.
From Rule 69:
If an attacking player has been pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending player so as to cause him to come into contact with the goalkeeper, such contact will not be deemed contact initiated by the attacking player for purposes of this rule, provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such contact.
If an attacking player initiates contact with a goalkeeper, incidental or otherwise, while the goalkeeper is in his goal crease, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed.
It’s clear the NHL’s Situation Room felt that Teravainen did not make the required reasonable effort.
After a brief review, McCauley made the announcement. The call on the ice was confirmed. No goal Hurricanes.
Carolina was able to successfully kill off the resulting delay of game penalty, en route to a 3-2 win.
From the NHL:
Video review confirmed that Carolina’s Teuvo Teravainen made incidental contact with Boston goaltender Tuukka Rask, preventing him from playing his position within the crease.
The decision was made in accordance with Rule 69.3 which states, in part, “If an attacking player initiates contact with a goalkeeper, incidental or otherwise, while the goalkeeper is in his goal crease, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed.”