A player is responsible for his stick. That’s always true… well, almost always.
There are certain situations where a player can get away with a high stick. What happened between Boston’s David Pastrnak and Detroit’s Luke Glendening was not one of them.
— Here’s Your Replay ⬇️ (@HeresYourReplay) February 9, 2020
Rule 60 covers high sticks:
Players must be in control and responsible for their stick.
However, a player is permitted accidental contact on an opponent if the act is committed as a normal windup or follow through of a shooting motion, or accidental contact on the
opposing center who is bent over during the course of a face-off.
A wild swing at a bouncing puck would not be considered a normal windup or follow through and any contact to an opponent above the height of the shoulders shall be penalized accordingly
That last part? That’s key to this situation.
There was no shot. Not even a pass. Pastrnak swung at a pop-fly.
He should’ve been penalized accordingly.
The Bruins would tie the game 13 seconds later, with the primary assist going to a guy who should’ve been in the penalty box.
Detroit went on to win 3-1.