New York Rangers forward Brett Howden’s quick stickwork turned a batted puck into a legal goal against the Dallas Stars on Monday
The Rangers forward gloved down the puck at the top of the crease after a shot deflected off the back of New York’s Brendan Lemieux. Moments later the puck was behind Dallas goaltender Anton Khudobin.
Referee Trevor Hanson immediately waved off the goal, believing that the puck had been batted in. Linesman Jonny Murray, positioned on the opposite side of the ice, caught up with the referee to share his perspective on the play.
After reviewing the play with the NHL’s Situation Room, the Rangers were awarded the game-tying goal.
Rule 67 covers handling the puck. It states, in part:
A player shall be permitted to stop or “bat” a puck in the air with his open hand […]
Section 67.6 specifies that goals cannot be scored by batting the puck in.
A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who bats or directs the puck with his hand into the net. A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who bats or directs the puck and it is deflected into the net off any player, goalkeeper or official.
Note that this play is not eligible to be reviewed based a Coach’s Challenge. It’s the league’s call to review pucks batted into the net.
By playing the puck just before it crossed the goal line, Howden kept it legal. Good goal.