Leading 5-4 with 1:46 to play, the last thing Team Canada wanted to do was hand a power play to the US.  Thanks to some quick reflexes and a sharp catching hand, they were able to stay out of the box.


With the Canadians leading by one, defenseman Ty Dellandrea cleared the puck out of play. His clearing attempt appeared to be headed over the glass behind the players’ bench, which would have been a penalty for delay of game.

Canadian assistant coach André Tourigny made a quick grab to prevent the puck from clearing the glass behind the benches.

From IIHF Rule 135:

ii. No penalty will be assessed if a player shoots the puck directly over the boards at the players’ benches but not over the protective glass behind the players’ benches.

Though intentional, the play was treated as if the puck had hit a player on the bench. There’s no repercussions for Tourigny’s actions since he didn’t interfere with the play on the ice.

The problem?  Dellandrea didn’t shoot the puck directly into the bench area.  The puck actually cleared the high glass, only to be caught by the coach as it cleared the players’ bench.

i. A player who shoots, throws, kicks, or bats the puck directly out of the playing area from inside his defending zone anywhere in the rink (except where there is no protective glass) during game action, without any deflection, will be assessed a minor penalty. The determining factor will be the position of the puck when it is played.

Of course, we have the benefit of multiple angles of replays to confirm.  Clearly, Canada got the benefit of the doubt with the puck landing in the bench.  Were it not for the quick grab of Tourigny, they may not have been so lucky.


Canada went on to win the game 6-4.