Retired NHL linesman Shane Heyer will be inducted into the BC Hockey Hall of Fame this summer.

Heyer, a native of Summerland, retired after the 2017-18 season. His 30-year career included 2,016 regular season games — 1,630 as a linesman and 318 as a referee — as well as 214 playoff appearances.  Heyer suited up for six Stanley Cup Finals (2007, 2008, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2017), along with two World Cup Tournaments (1996, 2016) and the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver.

Heyer is one of eight — with Brian Murphy having just reached the mark — officials to have worked 2,000 regular season games.

He may have hung up his whistle, but he didn’t exactly turn in his badge.  After retiring, Heyer stayed on with the National Hockey League, where he now works as an officiating manager.

Heyer joins a number of officials already enshrined in the hall. Referees Rob Shick (2011) and Lloyd Gilmour (1999), linesman Brad Lazarowich (2017), and NHL officiating manager Bob Hall (2007).

Here’s a look at Lazarowich’s 2017 induction speech:



Heyer’s fellow inductees for the Class of 2019 include NHLers Daniel Sedin, Henrik Sedin, and Barrett Jackman. They’re joined by former Canucks player and scout Ron Delorme and Karen Wallace, who helped develop women’s hockey in British Columbia. The 1997-98 South Surrey Eagles of the BCHL, winners of the RBC Cup, will also be inducted into the Team category.

The BC Hockey Hall of Fame induction will take place on Friday, July 19, 2019.

Congratulations to Shane Heyer and the rest of this year’s inductees.