The Montreal Canadiens scored a goal with the net knocked off.

Goaltender Frederik Andersson appeared to dislodge the net while making a desperate attempt to stop a shot by Montreal’s Brendan Gallagher.   After a lengthy video review, the goal counted.



Referee Tim Peel gave a terrific explanation of the call.

“This is not a reviewable play. We were checking to see — to make sure that the puck was on its way into the net as the net was coming off. We have a goal.”

From the NHL Rulebook:

63.6 Awarded Goal – In the event that the goal post is displaced, either deliberately or accidentally, by a defending player, prior to the puck crossing the goal line between the normal position of the goalposts, the Referee may award a goal.

In order to award a goal in this situation, the goal post must have been displaced by the actions of a defending player, the puck must have been shot (or the player must be in the act of shooting) at the goal prior to the goal post being displaced, and it must be determined that the puck would have entered the net between the normal position of the goal posts.

When the goal post has been displaced deliberately by the defending team when their goalkeeper has been removed for an extra attacker thereby preventing an impending goal by the attacking team, the Referee shall award a goal to the attacking team.

The goal frame is considered to be displaced if either or both goal pegs are no longer in their respective holes in the ice, or the net has come completely off one or both pegs, prior to or as the puck enters the goal.

Good call, ref — and good use of replay to get the call right.