The two best teams will be joined in the Stanley Cup Final with the eight best officials. After three rounds, the NHL has narrowed down its officials to the top four referees and the top four linesmen.  Here are the officials working the 2018 Stanley Cup Final.



Marc Joannette, Wes McCauley, Chris Rooney, and Kelly Sutherland

Out from Conference FinalGord Dwyer, Eric Furlatt, Brad Meier, and Dan O’Halloran

All four referees have worked a Stanley Cup Final before:  Joannette (2008), McCauley (2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017), Rooney (2012, 2013), Sutherland (2010, 2011, 2015, 2016, 2017)

This is the first Stanley Cup Final in nine years without referee Dan O’Halloran.  O’Halloran’s last final miss came in 2009, when he made it as far as the Conference Final after working the Cup Final in 2007 and 2008.  Meier is also sidelined after working the 2017 Cup Final.



Derek Amell, Greg Devorski, Matt MacPherson, and Jonny Murray

Out from Conference FinalScott Cherrey, Michel Cormier, Ryan Gibbons, and Brian Murphy

Veteran linesmen Amell (2009, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017), Devorski (2010), and Murray (2012) have all made previous trips to the Final.

MacPherson is making his first appearance in the Stanley Cup Final. In his seventh season, MacPherson has worked nearly 500 regular season games and over 40 playoff games.

“Hockey players have the same dream of making it to the NHL Finals and officials are no different, I’m sure. We’ve talked to Matt and he’s just thrilled to be where he’s at,” says Shaun Smith, a friend of MacPherson’s, as reported by CTV.  McPherson will be the lone representative of the Maritimes, as Vegas and Washington have no players from the provinces.

Veteran Brian Murphy is out after having worked the last three Cup Finals.


No standby officials were named for the Stanley Cup Final. Typically, one each of the officials off that night will be on standby.


Congratulations to the NHL referees and linesmen selected to officiate the 2018 Stanley Cup Final!