The NHL All Star Game is getting an All-Star crew of referees and linesmen. The referees for the 2018 NHL All-Star Game will be Wes McCauley and Dave Jackson. They’ll be joined on the ice by linesmen Brian Mach and Mark Shewchyk.


Wes McCauley, 46, would undoubtedly be the fans’ choice to work the All Star Game. In addition to being one of the league’s top officials, the 15-year veteran has also gone viral with his announcements. Fans can only hope for a review, Coach’s Challenge, or the rare fight in this year’s All Star Game to give McCauley a chance to get on the mic.

McCauley has worked over 900 regular-season NHL games, along with 115 playoff appearances – a total that includes five straight trips to the Stanley Cup Final from 2013 to 2017. McCauley’s first NHL game was January 20, 2003, when the Chicago Blackhawks visited the Columbus Blue Jackets. Before becoming a full-time official, McCauley was top-level player; he was drafted in 1990 by the Detroit Red Wings. This is his first All-Star appearance.

Dave Jackson, 53, is in his final NHL season. The Montreal native recently worked his 1,500th NHL game. Jackson  is in his 26th season, having made his National Hockey League debut on December 22, 1990, working a game between the New Jersey Devils and Quebec Nordiques. Jackson refereed the 2014 Sochi Olympics, as well as the 2002 All-Star Game in Los Angeles.

“The game is so much faster than when I started,” Jackson told the Denver Post. “Taking out the red line (two-line pass), the players are faster, the equipment is better, the shots are harder and the sticks and ice are better. And the rules are better. We’ve done a good job of opening up the game.”

With the league’s top players in a 3-on-3 format, Sunday’s All-Star Game will be wide open.


Brian Mach, 43, has officiated nearly 1,200 games in his 17-year NHL career. The Little Falls, Minnesota, native made his NHL debut on October 7, 2000. He was the first Minnesotan to officiate 1,000 National Hockey League games, including a 2016 Stadium Series game between the Chicago Blackhawks and Minnesota Wild and the 2010 NHL Premiere Series between Minnesota and Carolina in Finland

“Every night I go on the ice, my heart is pounding like it’s my first game,” Mach said upon working his 1,000th game in 2015. “I smile every time I hit that ice.”

Mark Shewchyk, 43, is approaching the 1,000 game mark — a milestone he should hit by season’s end. Shewchyk followed in the footsteps of his father, Dave, who was an NHL official from 1968 to 1976. Shewchyk, who hails from Hamilton, Ontario, made his first NHL appearance working a game between the Anaheim Ducks and Nashville Predators on October 9, 2003.


Previous All-Star Game Officials

2017 – Referees: Mike Leggo, Kelly Sutherland. Linesmen: David Brisebois, Steve Barton
2016 – Referees: Dan O’Rourke, Ian Walsh. Linesmen: Jonny Murray, Vaughan Rody
2015 – Referees: Chris Lee, Chris Rooney. Linesmen: Steve Miller, Tony Sericolo
2014 – No Game (Olympics)
2013 – No Game (Lockout)
2012 – Referees: Eric Furlatt, Tim Peel. Linesmen: Derek Amell, Brad Kovachik
2011 – Referees: Tom Kowal, Kevin Pollock. Linesmen: Darren Gibbs, Don Henderson
2010 – No Game (Olympics)
2009 – Referees: Marc Joannette, Brad Meier. Linesmen: Greg Devorski, Pierre Racicot
2008 – Referees: Rob Martell, Brad Watson. Linesmen: Pat Dapuzzo, Lyle Seitz
2007 – Referees: Greg Kimmerly, Mike Leggo. Linesmen: Lonnie Cameron, Jay Sharrers
2006 – No Game (Olympics)
2005 – No Game (Lockout)
2004 – Referees: Blaine Angus, Stephen Walkom. Linesmen: Scott Driscoll, Thor Nelson
2003 – Referees: Dennis LaRue, Dan O’Halloran. Linesmen: Jean Morin, Tim Nowak
2002 – Referees: Dave Jackson, Don Van Massenhoven. Linesmen: Andy McElman, Mark Pare
2001 – Referees: Mick McGeough, Richard Trottier. Linesmen: Randy Mitton, Mark Wheler
2000 – Referees: Kerry Fraser, Don Koharski. Linesmen: Gerard Gauthier, Ray Scapinello
1999 – Referee: Paul Devorski. Linesmen: Pierre Champoux, Brian Murphy
1998 – Referee: Paul Stewart. Linesmen: Mike Cvik, Shane Heyer
1997 – Referee: Rob Shick. Linesmen: Ron Asselstine, Bob Hodges, Leon Stickle
1996 – Referee: Mark Faucette. Linesmen: Ron Asselstine, Brad Lazarowich
1995 – No Game (Lockout)
1994 – Referee: Bill McCreary. Linesmen: Gord Broseker, Pat Dapuzzo
1993 – Referee: Dan Marouelli. Linesmen: Ryan Bozek, Kevin Collins
1992 – Referee: Don Koharski. Linesmen: Mark Pare, Mark Vines
1991 – Referee: Terry Gregson. Linesmen: Jerry Pateman, Dan Schachte
1990 – Referee: Kerry Fraser. Linesmen: Bob Hodges, Dan McCourt
1989 – Referee: Ron Hoggarth. Linesmen: Ron Asselstine, Wayne Bonney
1988 – Referee: Denis Morel. Linesmen: Kevin Collins, Randy Mitton
1987 – No Game (Replaced by Rendez-vous ’87)
1986 – Referee: Ron Wicks. Linesmen: John D’Amico, Gord Broseker
1985 – Referee: Andy Van Hellemond. Linesmen: Gerear Gautier, Bob Hodges
1984 – Referee: Bruce Hood. Linesmen: Ray Scapinello, John D’Amico
1983 – Referee: Bob Myers. Linesmen: Leon Stickle, Ryan Bozak



Congratulations to Wes McCauley, Dave Jackson, Brian Mach, and Mark Shewchyk on their 2018 NHL All-Star selections!