The Calgary Flames battled back from a two-goal deficit to tie Thursday night’s game against the Los Angeles Kings. It would take an ugly goal to break that tie.

Mark Jankowski went after his own rebound, which ended up deflecting off his stick and past Jonathan Quick to give the Flames a 3-2 lead.

Referee Jon McIsaac immediately signaled a goal, but later headed over to confirm with the league that the puck entered the net in a legal fashion.

“After review,” announced McIsaac, “it is confirmed that the puck hit the stick.  Good goal!”

Had it not gone off his stick, it would have been up to the officials to determine whether or not Jankowski directed the puck in, or if it merely deflected off his body.

Rule 78.5 requires that a goal be disallowed:

When the puck has been directed, batted or thrown into the net by an attacking player other than with a stick. When this occurs, if it is deemed to be done deliberately, then the decision shall be NO

A goal cannot be scored when the puck has been deliberately batted with any part of the attacking player’s body into the net.

McIsaac’s initial call – one he was in good position for – was that it was a legal goal.

Jonathan Quick wasn’t too happy.  He wanted the officials to review the play for a high stick, believing that Jankowski’s stick – elevated due to his jump off the ice – may have been above the crossbar.

The goal stood. The Flames went on to win the game 4-3.