Minnesota Wild goaltender Devan Dubynk was about as unhappy as you can get after a win.  Despite a 5-2 victory over the Nashville Predators, the Minnesota goaltender was frustrated with an goal overturned on a goaltender interference call.

Referees Ian Walsh initially waved off the goal due to a James Neal elbow to Dubnyk’s head.  After a challenge from Nashville coach Peter Laviolette, the initial call was overturned and a goal awarded to the Predators.

The Star Tribune’s Michael Russo reported that the goal was allowed since the contact came after the puck had crossed the line.  After review, that appeared to be the right interpretation of the play.  Accordingly, the call was reversed, with Walsh leveraging the opportunity for review to make the right call on the goal.

[Wild head coach Bruce] Boudreau insisted the other ref, Jean Hebert, told the bench if Walsh reversed the call, there’d be a penalty.

There was no penalty on the play.

After the game, Dubynk unloaded.

“This is what I don’t understand. I have a ton of respect for the guy that made the call and he was very patient with me after as well when I was really upset. So I don’t want to stand here and rip into him. I don’t even know what the rule is anymore. A couple things: If you want to find a clip of a goalie just getting scored on a straight shot from there it’s going to be tough to find. When I know I’m about to get my head taken off, I don’t know how that doesn’t qualify as able to make a save. So that happens and he makes the right call there.”

“They challenge it. They go to look at it and I don’t know who was talking to him or again what the rule is. You know, he’s in the white and I’m in my [crease]. It doesn’t matter if the player is in the white if I’m in my paint. Like, I’m where I need to be. Regardless of that, if that play happens to a player in the middle of the ice, that’s going to be a suspension.  He almost killed me. I’m not saying that he wants to. He’s a guy that goes hard to the net. That’s part of his game. That’s why he’s a good player. He’s not trying to hurt me. He’s trying to go to the net. It doesn’t matter, though. You can’t tell me that’s [okay].”

“That’s a dangerous play. So even after they go and decide that I just let that shot straight in, they all forget that that’s a penalty regardless of whether the puck went in first or not. The puck could’ve gone in three seconds earlier. That’s a dangerous play. I bet if there’s no such thing as a review, it’s no goal and a penalty. Instead now there’s all these distractions, they’re trying to figure out if the other team is challenging, then they go over and they’re looking at it and they’re thinking about all these things and it gets forgot about. That’s interference on anybody. Not even goalie interference. If that play happens in the middle of the ice to a player, it’s a suspension.”

“It just doesn’t make sense to me. I don’t know what else to say.”