Love it or hate it, this is how intent to blow is supposed to work.

Referee Frederick L’Ecuyer was positioned on top of the net when he lost sight of the puck under a pileup of players in the crease.  He let the play continue, eventually blowing the whistle — but not before the puck trickled over the goal line.

The goal was waved off since the referee was in the process of blowing his whistle.  The play is not reviewable.  No goal.



From the NHL:

At 1:10 of the second period of the Flyers/Islanders game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck entered the New York net.

The referee informed the Situation Room that he was blowing his whistle to stop play before the puck crossed the goal line.

According to Rule 78.5, apparent goals shall be disallowed “when the Referee deems the play has been stopped, even if he had not physically had the opportunity to stop play by blowing his whistle.”

This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee’s call on the ice stands – no goal Philadelphia.

It’s a tough break for the Flyers. For a team that’s averaged 1.8 goals per game over their last 16, they need every goal they can get.

On this one, the whistle — or at least its intent — beat them to it.