The NHL has released the officiating roster for the 2016-17 season.  In case you missed it, we’ve reported on the new hirings.  Here’s a summary of the changes in stripes for the upcoming season:


  • 2 – Jon McIsaac
  • 7 – Garrett Rank
  • 30 – Kendrick Nicholson
  • 52 – Shandor Alphonso*
  • 64 – Brandon Gawryletz*
  • 87 – Devin Berg*

*No number change

It will be somewhat strange to see the ol’ #7, last worn by Hall-of-Famer Bill McCreary, back out there on the ice this season.  

Read more on this year’s promotions


New Hires

  • 41 – Cameron Voss
  • 44 – Furman South
  • 45 – Peter MacDougall
  • 47 – Pierre Lambert
  • 48 – Chris Schlenker
  • 81 – Ryan Daisy
  • 97 – Kory Nagy

Learn more about Daisy, Lambert, MacDougall, and Schlenker and about Nagy, South, and Voss.


New Numbers

Aside from the promoted referees, who have all changed numbers, we have one veteran official making a number swap.

Referee Kyle Rehman, who wore 37 during his NHL career, will move to 10 – a number last worn by the now-retired Paul Devorski. 



Of course, all those new names and numbers are taking the place of the referees and linesmen not returning to the NHL for the 2016-17 season. 

Referees Greg Kimmerly, Dennis Larue, and Rob Martell all hung up the skates last season, as did linesmen Mike Cvik, Brad Lazarowich, and Andy McElman.

Referee Mike Hasenfratz and linesman Thor Nelson were not included on this year’s officiating roster.  While no retirement announcement has come out for either, they’ve both been out with long-term injuries. Their absence appears to indicate an end to their respective NHL careers. 

Referee Mark Lemelin has been released, and will be officiating in Austria this season.

Updated Roster of NHL Officials for 2016-17