You never want to take back-to-back penalties. It’s even worse when the second penalty is incurred while you’re leaving the box.
Chicago’s Patrick Kane was eager to get back in the play after the Blackhawks killed off his high-sticking minor. So eager, in fact, that he played the puck before leaving the penalty box.
Yeah, that’s a penalty.
Kane was asking the ref "What's the call?" once it was made.
— Mark Lazerus (@MarkLazerus) January 22, 2016
From NHL Rule 56.2, which covers interference:
A minor penalty shall be imposed on any identifiable player on the players’ bench or penalty bench who, by means of his stick or his body, interferes with the movements of the puck or any opponent on the ice during the progress of the play.
In addition, should a player about to come onto the ice, play the puck while one or both skates are still on the players’ or penalty bench, a minor penalty for interference shall be assessed.
It doesn’t happen often, but it has happened before. Two years ago, Boston’s Dougie Hamilton was called for the same infraction.
At least Kane and Hamilton were getting on to the ice. Ryan Clowe didn’t even bother to leave the bench: