Eight NHL teams moved on to the second round of the NHL playoffs.  Only 12 referees and 12 linesmen will join them.

Below are the officials selected to work the second round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs!


  • Eric Furlatt (#27)
  • Dave Jackson (#8)
  • Mark Joannette (#25)
  • Steve Kozari (#40)
  • Wes McCauley (#4)
  • Dan O’Halloran (#13)
  • Dan O’Rourke (#9)
  • Tim Peel (#20)
  • Kevin Pollock (#33)
  • Chris Rooney (#5)
  • Kelly Sutherland (#11)
  • Brad Watson (#23)


  • Derek Amell (#75)
  • Steve Barton (#59)
  • Scott Cherrey (#50)
  • Scott Driscoll (#68)
  • Shane Heyer (#55)
  • Brad Kovachik (#71)
  • Steve Miller (#89)
  • Brian Murphy (#93)
  • Jonny Murray (#95)
  • Derek Nansen (#70)
  • Pierre Racicot (#65)
  • Jay Sharrers (#57)

Referees who missed the cut for the second round were Francis Charron, Paul Devorski, Gord Dwyer, Chris Lee, Brad Meier, Dean Morton, Francois St. Laurent, and Justin St. Pierre.

Sharks fans will feel somewhat justified to see Chris Lee left off the current roster after this controversial call that quite possibly cost them their first round series against the Los Angeles Kings.

The Minnesota Wild will also be just fine with the absence of Brad Meier after some tough calls in their series against the Avalanche.

Also missing is Francis Charron, whose call in Montreal/Tampa set off a firestorm of debate around French-Canadian referees.

Linesmen left off the second-round roster were David Brisebois, Lonnie Cameron, Michel Cormier, Greg Devorski, Darren Gibbs, Matt MacPherson, Bryan Pancich, and Mark Shewchyk.


Check out our updated stats page to read up on who’ll be working the postseason, and get ready for our NHL Ref Bracket Pick ‘Em, coming soon!

Follow us on Twitter – @scoutingtherefs