The NHL has re-aligned its divisions for the 2020-21 season. Health concerns prompted the creation of an all-Canadian division, with dedicated officials to work those games.

The North Division will see a set roster of officials for the season. The remaining three divisions will see the rest of the crew; there are no dedicated groups for the East, West, or Central.

While the lineup has not been announced, here’s who’s in – and out.


North Division (Canada)

Referees: Reid Anderson*, Mitch Dunning*, Eric Furlatt, Marc Joannette, Michael Markovic*, Brad Meier, Kendrick Nicholson, Kevin Pollock, Chris Schlenker, Graham Skilliter, Corey Syvret*

Linesmen: Steve Barton, David Brisebois, Michel Cormier, Scott Cherrey, David Brisebois, Steve Miller, Bevan Mills, Kiel Murchison, Derek Nansen, Mark Shewchyk

* AHL/NHL Official


“These officials are Canadians and reside in Canada. It just made it easier,” said NHL Director of Officiating Stephen Walkom.


The NHL’s 34 full-time referees and 31 full-time linesmen typically rotate around the entire league, seeing each team multiple times and visiting each building over the course of the season.


Here’s the 2020-21 NHL Officiating Roster:

NHL Referees and Linesmen for 2020-21 Season