The ECHL has named the four referees and five linesmen slated to work the 2015 Kelly Cup Finals.  The officials have been selected, according to the league, ‘based on the merit of their performance over the course of the regular season and their work thus far in the Kelly Cup Playoffs.’

ECHL Faceoff

(Image: Dinur Blum)

Your 2015 Kelly Cup Finals officials are:

Referees: Pierre Lambert, Frederic Leblanc, Ryan Murphy, and Stephen Reneau

Linesmen: Ryan Daisy, Francois Dussureault, Shaun Morgan, Patrick Richardson, and Steven Walsh

As was the case during the Conference Finals, all games during the Kelly Cup Finals will utilize the two-referee system.

Ryan Murphy’s been to the Finals three times prior; this is his fourth such appearance in the past five seasons (2011, 2013, 2014, 2015).  Fred LeBlanc, in his sixth ECHL season, is making his third straight Kelly Cup Finals appearance, while Pierre Lambert is working his second in two years with the league. Referee Stephen Reneau is making his Kelly Cup Finals debut in just his second season in the league.

It’s no surprise to see these four in the finals. They paired off to work Game 7s in the Conference Finals, with Lambert and Reneau taking the triple-OT Eastern Conference Final while Murphy and LeBlanc handled the deciding game out West. 

Three-year ECHL veteran linesmen Ryan Daisy and Shaun Morgan are working their third consecutive Kelly Cup Finals.  Steven Walsh is making his second trip, having handled the finals in 2014. Francois Dussurealt and Patrick Richardson, both in their second ECHL seasons, are on the lines for the first time in the Kelly Cup Finals. 

“This is a terrific honor for all of these officials to reach the Kelly Cup Finals,” said ECHL Vice President of Hockey Operations Joe Ernst. “Each of them has earned this assignment as a result of their performance throughout the playoffs. For the officials working their first Finals, it will be a great experience, and for the officials returning to the Finals, it is a very good honor to have worked multiple final series. It speaks to the development of officials in the ECHL and is something that our supervisory staff and I take a great deal of pride in.”

Congratulations to this year’s Kelly Cup Finals referees and linesmen!

The series, between the Allen American and South Carolina Stingrays, gets underway on May 31 in Texas.


A total of 27 former ECHL officials worked in the NHL in 2014-15: referees Darcy Burchell, Francis Charron, Tom Chmielewski, Ghislain Hebert, Jean Hebert, Marc Joannette, Mike Leggo, Dave Lewis, T.J. Luxmore, Wes McCauley, Jon McIsaac, Dean Morton, Dan O’Rourke, Brian Pochmara, Kevin Pollock, Kyle Rehman, Chris Rooney, Graham Skilliter, Justin St. Pierre and Ian Walsh, and linesmen Steve Barton, Trent Knorr, Matt MacPherson, Brian Mach, Tim Nowak, Bryan Pancich and Jay Sharrers.