ECHL officials are heading to Traverse City for the 2018 NHL Prospects Tournament.

Sixteen of the league’s on-ice officials will work this year’s event. The eight referees and eight linesmen are:


Cam Fleming, Matt Menniti, Jared Mitrano, Alex Normandin, Ben O’Quinn, Jake Rekucki, Alex Ross, Anthony Tapper


Randy Dengler, Rhodes Dolan, Cam Dykstra, Neil Frederickson, Shane Gustafson, Carter Sandlak, Chris Williams, Trent Williams.


The on-ice officials will be joined by ECHL Senior Vice President of Hockey Operations Joe Ernst and Manager of Officiating Stephen Thomson.  Ernst and Thompson will handle scheduling of officials as well as assisting with any rule situation that comes up during the tournament.

“The Detroit Red Wings, along with the staff at Center Ice, do an outstanding job of hosting this tournament each year, and it is an honor for the ECHL and our staff to be working such a well-respected tournament as Traverse City,” Ernst said. “It will provide our officials excellent experience going into the season as these players are competing for roster spots with their respective NHL clubs. It also allows me and Stephen to be able to spend time teaching our officials as well as spend time with them prior to our training camp and season which is invaluable.”

The tournament runs from September 7-11. Eight clubs are taking part in this year’s event: the Carolina Hurricanes, Chicago Blackhawks, Columbus Blue Jackets, Dallas Stars, Detroit Red Wings, Minnesota Wild, New York Rangers and St. Louis Blues. Teams are divided into two divisions for a three-day round robin tournament, then ranked by their win-loss records, with the Championship game taking place on the final day.

This is the seventh consecutive Traverse City tournament featuring ECHL officials.