The 2016 CCM/USA Hockey All-American Prospects Game will be held on September 22, 2016, at Philadelphia’s Wells Fargo Center, featuring 42 of the top American-born prospects eligible for the 2017 NHL Entry Draft. Thirty-five of those players are listed on the 2016-17 NHL Central Scouting Futures List, which highlights players that have potential to be selected in the first three rounds of the draft. Past participants in the event include Jack Eichel, Seth Jones, and Dylan Larkin. The players will be split into two teams coached by US Hockey Hall of Fame members and former Philadelphia Flyers Mark Howe and John LeClair. 


The annual showcase will also feature four of the top American officials. USA Hockey recently announced the referees and linesmen selected to work the game.


Lucas Martin (Stoughton, WI) enters his first full season as a referee in the East Coast Hockey League after previously working in the Southern Professional Hockey League and the United States Hockey League. He recently worked the Traverse City Prospects tournament, featuring the top prospects from eight National Hockey League teams.

Terrence Murphy (Beverly, MA) has served as an NCAA Division I hockey referee in the Hockey East Association for the last two seasons. His previous experience also includes time in the North American Hockey League, SPHL and USHL.


Riley Bowles (Spokane, WA) is currently a linesman in both the American Hockey League and ECHL who has also spent time in the SPHL and USHL. He joined Martin on the ice for the Traverse City Prospect Tournament.

Nick Briganti (Newington, CT) enters his second season as a linesman in the AHL and ECHL after serving the last three seasons in NCAA Division I hockey with ECAC Hockey and the Hockey East Association.

All four officials are products of USA Hockey’s Officiating Development Program, which educates and assigns officials for Tier I, II and III junior leagues in the United States. 

“Just like the players, these officials have been selected for this game based on their ability to be successful at higher levels of hockey,” said Matt Leaf, director of officiating education for USA Hockey. “The chance to officiate this game is both a reward for their past efforts and a showcase to the NHL and other leagues of what their potential can be.”


Previous AAPG Officials

  • 2015 – Referees: Sean Fernandez, Jeremy Tufts.  Linesmen: William Hancock II, Brent Hooks
  • 2014 – Referees: Stephen Reneau, Stephen Thomson.  Linesmen: Ryan Madsen, Charlie O’Connor
  • 2013 – Referees: Brett Sheva, Andrew Wilk. Linesmen: Ryan Daisy, Shaun Morgan.
  • 2012 – Referees: Tom Chmielewski, Chris Pitoscia.  Linesmen: Alex Stagnone, Brian Oliver.


The game will be streamed live via FASTHockey. For more information on the CCM/USA Hockey All-American Prospects Game, or to purchase tickets, visit