The National Hockey League has announced the 20 referees and 20 linesmen who will work the 2016 Stanley Cup Playoffs. 


Francis Charron, Gord Dwyer, Eric Furlatt, Jean Hebert, Dave Jackson, Marc Joannette, Steve Kozari, Frederick L’Ecuyer, Chris Lee, Wes McCauley, Brad Meier, Dan O’Halloran, Dan O’Rourke, Tim Peel, Kevin Pollock, Chris Rooney, Francois St. Laurent, Kelly Sutherland, Ian Walsh, and Brad Watson.

Standby referees are Trevor Hanson and Graham Skilliter.


Derek Amell, Steve Barton, David Brisebois, Scott Cherrey, Michel Cormier, Greg Devorski, Scott Driscoll, Ryan Galloway, Shane Heyer, Brad Kovachik, Matt MacPherson, Steve Miller, Brian Murphy, Jonny Murray, Derek Nansen, Tim Nowak, Brian Pancich, Pierre Racicot, Jay Sharrers, and Mark Shewchyk.  

Standby linesmen for the first round are Trent Knorr and Kiel Murchison.


All of the 2016 Stanley Cup Playoff officials have been here before.  Standby referees Trevor Hanson and Graham Skilliter, along with standby linesman Trent Knorr, have yet to make their playoff debuts. 

Back In The Saddle

Referee Tim Peel and Ian Walsh return for the 2016 Stanley Cup Playoffs. Linesman Matt MacPherson is also back in the postseason, as is Jonny Murray who missed last year’s playoffs due to injury.  

Who’s Missing?

Referees Rob Martell and Greg Kimmerly, along with linesmen Mike Cvik, Brad Lazarowich, and Andy McElman have all hung up their skates.

Brian Pochmara and Justin St. Pierre both suited up for the playoffs last year; both have been left off the postseason roster. Other full-time referees who missed the cut include Ghislain Hebert, Tom Kowal, Mike Leggo, TJ Luxmore, Dean Morton, and Kyle Rehman. 

Some of the NHL’s longest-tenured linesmen are again sidelined this spring, as Lonnie Cameron, Darren Gibbs, and Mark Wheler have been left off the postseason roster. They’re joined by linesmen Brian Mach, Vaughan Rody, Tony Sericolo, and rookie Ryan Gibbons.  Linesman Don Henderson remains sidelined with an injury. 

Playoff Assignments

Click here for the daily playoff assignments or the official assignments by series.


Best of luck to all of the officials selected for the 2016 Stanley Cup Playoffs!