A midseason refresher on some rules, including a high stick from Montreal’s Matheson, a goal from Arizona’s Schmaltz on a displaced net, and a missed interference call on a sneaky Malkin stick push, along with a fine to the Coyotes’ Valimaki, and an officiating injury update. Todd and Josh also review a penalty call on the Jets’ Schmidt that appeared to come via review — and what exactly caused all that confusion, and how the NHL and the refs can fix it. C’mon, stripes, get on the mic!
More on these plays, including video clips and rule breakdowns, at scoutingtherefs.com
Email us your questions – firstname.lastname@example.org.
Call the Ref Line at 585-484-REFS and voice your questions and concerns!
Tweet us @scoutingtherefs – #RefsPodcast
Follow Todd Lewis @toddlewissports
Follow @scoutingtherefs and @toddlewissports, and be sure to subscribe to the Scouting the Refs Podcast wherever you get your podcasts:
- Apple Podcasts: refs.hockey/apple
- Spotify: refs.hockey/spotify
- Stitcher: refs.hockey/stitcher
- TuneIn: refs.hockey/tunein
- More: refs.hockey/podcast