The officials are set for the 2023 IIHF World Junior Championships later this month.

This year’s tournament – coming just four months after the rescheduled 2022 event – is being held in the Maritimes, with New Brunswick and Nova Scotia hosting.

Here are the referees and linesmen for the 2023 World Juniors:


Michael Campbell (CAN)
Graeden Hamilton (CAN)
Andreas Harnebring (SWE)
Tomas Hronsky (SVK)
Marc Iwert (GER)
Richard Magnusson (SWE)
Mathieu Menniti (CAN)
Anssi Salonen (FIN)
Peter Schlittenhardt (USA)
Jakub Sindel (CZE)
Michael Tscherrig (SUI)
Riley Yerkovich (USA)


Clement Goncalves (FRA)
Brandon Grillo (USA)
Onni Hautamaki (FIN)
David Kloucek (CZE)
Spencer Knox (CAN)
Daniel Konc (SVK)
Patrick Laguzov (GER)
Shawn Oliver (CAN) 
Daniel Persson (SWE)
John Waleski (USA)
Tarrington Wyonzek (CAN)


Four officials were originally assigned to the 2022 tournament but unable to take part when it was rescheduled for August. Referees Andreas Harnebring and Marc Iwert along with linesmen Dario Fuchs and Daniel Persson will get another crack at the tourney, having been invited to return for ’23.

There’s a great deal of professional experience among the World Juniors’ officiating ranks. Nine officials are currently working in the American Hockey League this season: Referees Michael Campbell, Graeden Hamilton, Mathieu Menniti, Peter Schlittenhardt, and Riley Yerkovich; and linesmen Brandon Grillo, Spencer Knox, John (J.P.) Waleski, and Tarrington Wyonzek. Grillo and Waleski also work in the ECHL. Wyonzek works the lines in the WHL, while Knox is also an OHL linesman.

Three referees have Olympic experience, with Canada’s Michael Campbell (2022), Finland’s Anssi Salonen (2018), and Switzerland’s Michael Tscherrig (2022) both having taken part.

Officiating coaches include Keith Kaval (USA/NAHL), Al Kimmel (CAN/NHL), Kevin Muench (CAN/WHL), Masi Puolakka (FIN) and Tomas Torsbrink (SWE).

The tournament gets under way on December 26, with the Gold Medal Game slated for January 5.

Congratulations to the referees and linesmen selected to work this year’s World Juniors!