The OHL recently handed out the hardware for its interrupted 2019-20 season.

Referee Jason Faist was presented with “The Bodie” Character Award for Officials, which goes to the official who best “demonstrates a passion and dedication to officiating and the game of hockey, who best exemplifies leadership on and off the ice, professionalism, and is respected by OHL member teams, players, and fellow officials.”

The Bodie is named for former OHL Senior Officiating Manager Ken Bodendistel, who served 40 years in the league beginning as a supervisor in 1974-75.  Bodendistel passed away in November, 2013, at the age of 73 after a courageous battle with cancer.

“It is such an honour to be this year’s recipient of ‘The Bodie’ Award,” said Faist, who wears number 5 on the ice.

“Ken was a mentor for so many young officials spanning several decades. I was fortunate enough to see Ken as a supervisor at many of my games when I first started as I lived in Cambridge and he was in Guelph. You knew when he was in the building, you better bring your A-game. He expected nothing less from you.”


OHL Director of Officiating Conrad Haché weighed in on Faist’s contributions.

“Jason is not only a successful referee, he’s also a leader on our team and is highly respected and regarded by his peers and the OHL clubs,” said Haché. “He’s a mentor to our officials and after 14 years he continues to bring his dedication, willingness to learn, commitment and desire to every assignment that he works.”

Faist is a 14-year veteran in the OHL, having spent the last 12 as a referee. He’s officiated 550 career regular season games along with 85 in the playoffs. He’s worked three OHL Championships, as well as the 2019 Memorial Cup.  Faist is also a referee in the American Hockey League (AHL).

“Thank you to the Ontario Hockey League, Conrad Haché, the Officiating Managers and all my fellow officials that I’ve had the pleasure to skate beside night in and night out,” Faist added. “Not only do I get to share the ice with the best junior players in the country, but I have the opportunity to skate alongside the very best amateur officials in the world!”

“I’d also like to thank my family and especially my wife Kayla for always supporting me as I spend so many nights away throughout the season. This award wouldn’t be possible without her.”

The Bodie Award was established in 2013. Past recipients include Geoff Rutherford, Kevin Hastings, Joe Celestin, Mike Cairns, Steve Corlyon, Sean Reid, and Scott Oakman.