The National Hockey League has announced the 20 referees and 20 linesmen taking the ice for the 2018 Stanley Cup Playoffs.


Francis Charron, Gord Dwyer, Eric Furlatt, Trevor Hanson, Jean Hebert, Marc Joannette, Steve Kozari, Wes McCauley, Brad Meier, Dan O’Halloran, Dan O’Rourke, Tim Peel, Brian Pochmara, Kevin Pollock, Kyle Rehman, Chris Rooney, Francois St. Laurent, Kelly Sutherland, Ian Walsh, and Brad Watson.

Standby referees for the first round are Jon McIsaac and Justin St. Pierre

In from 2017: Kyle Rehman, making his playoff debut. Rehman’s in his tenth season as an NHL ref.

Out from 2017: Chris Lee



Derek Amell, Steve Barton, Devin Berg, David Brisebois, Scott Cherrey, Michel Cormier, Greg Devorski, Ryan Gibbons, Darren Gibbs, Trent Knorr, Brad Kovachik, Matt MacPherson, Steve Miller, Kiel Murchison, Brian Murphy, Jonny Murray, Derek Nansen, Pierre Racicot, Mark Shewchyk, and Tony Sericolo.

Standby linesmen for the opening round are Ryan Daisy and Brian Mach

In from 2017: Devin Berg, Darren Gibbs, Derek Nansen, Tony Sericolo

Out from 2017: Scott Driscoll, Ryan Galloway, Shane Heyer (retired), Bryan Pancich,



Referee Kyle Rehman is making his first postseason appearance; he made his NHL debut in 2008.

Linesman Devin Berg is also making his playoff debut. He’s in his second full-time season. Berg’s first NHL game was October 15, 2015.


Back In The Saddle

Linesmen Darren Gibbs, Derek Nansen, and Tony Sericolo are all back in the postseason.

Who’s Missing

Referees not taking part in this year’s playoffs include: Jake Brenk, Tom Chmielewski, Ghislain Hebert, Frederick L’Ecuyer, Chris Lee, TJ Luxmore, Dean Morton, Kendrick Nicholson, Garrett Rank, and Graham Skilliter.  Linesmen on the sidelines are Shandor Alphonso, Lonnie Cameron, Scott Driscoll, Ryan Galloway, Brandon Gawryletz, Brian Mach, Bevan Mills, Kory Nagy, Tim Nowak, Bryan Pancich, Vaughan Rody – who’s nursing an upper-body injury – and Andrew Smith.

Retired officials Dave Jackson, Tom Kowal, Shane Heyer, and Mark Wheler are out for the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

The officials splitting time between the AHL and NHL – referees Reid Anderson, Pierre Lambert, Peter MacDougall, Evgeny Romasko, Chris Schlenker, Furman South, Corey Syvret, and Cameron Voss, along with linesmen Travis Gawryletz, Libor Suchanek– are also off the playoff roster. Look for them to be working in the AHL’s Calder Cup Playoffs.


NHL Series Supervisors

For the playoffs, a series supervisor will be assigned to each playoff series. Nearly all are former NHL referees working as Officiating Managers. Here’s the assignments for the opening round:

  • Lightning vs. Devils – Rob Shick
  • Bruins vs. Maple Leafs – Mick McGeough
  • Capitals vs. Blue Jackets – Don Koharski
  • Penguins vs. Flyers – Paul Devorski
  • Predators vs. Avalanche – Kay Whitmore
  • Jets vs. Wild – Rod Pasma
  • Golden Knights vs. Kings – Don Van Massenhoven
  • Ducks vs. Sharks – Bill McCreary


Congratulations to all the referees and linesmen selected to work the 2018 NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs