Eight NHL teams have been eliminated from the Stanley Cup Playoffs.  So have eight referees and eight linesmen.

The NHL has announced the 12 referees and 12 linesmen moving on to the second round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs.


Francis Charron, Jean Hebert,  Steve Kozari,  Wes McCauley, Brad Meier, Dan O’Halloran, Dan O’Rourke, Kevin Pollock, Chris Rooney, Francois St.Laurent, Kelly Sutherland, and Brad Watson.


Standby referees are Marc Joannette and Chris Lee

Out: Gord Dwyer, Eric Furlatt, Trevor Hanson, Marc Joannette, Chris Lee, Tim Peel, Brian Pochmara, and Ian Walsh

Great job during the first round by referee Francois St. Laurent, who moves on to Round 2 for the first time.

Furlatt’s cut was a bit surprising, as he’s made it to the second round for eight straight seasons, with five trips to the Conference Finals.  Dwyer also made it to the 2016 Conference Finals.  Joannette also went out after the first round last season following nine straight second round appearance with two Conference Finals and two Cup Finals.

Pairings may change up in the upcoming round, though a number of duos have moved on together, including St. Laurent/Rooney, Charron/Kozari, Hebert/O’Rourke, and Meier/Pollock.



Derek Amell, Steve Barton, Scott Cherrey, Michel Cormier, Shane Heyer, Brad Kovachik, Matt MacPherson, Steve Miller, Brian Murphy, Jonny Murray, Bryan Pancich, and Pierre Racicot.


Standby linesmen for the second round are Ryan Galloway and Mark Shewchyk.

Out: David Brisebois, Greg Devorski, Scott Driscoll, Ryan Galloway, Ryan Gibbons, Trent Knorr,  Kiel Murchison, and Mark Shewchyk.

MacPherson’s making his first trip to the second round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Devorski’s coming off two straight Conference Finals, so his departure comes as a surprise.


Best of luck to the NHL Officials for Round 2 of the Stanley Cup Playoffs!