The National Hockey League has announced the 20 referees and 20 linesmen who will work the 2017 Stanley Cup Playoffs.


Francis Charron, Gord Dwyer, Eric Furlatt, Trevor Hanson, Jean Hebert, Marc Joannette, Steve Kozari, Chris Lee, Wes McCauley, Brad Meier, Dan O’Halloran, Dan O’Rourke, Tim Peel, Brian Pochmara, Kevin Pollock, Chris Rooney, Francois St.Laurent, Kelly Sutherland, Ian Walsh, and Brad Watson.

Standby referees are Kyle Rehman and Graham Skilliter.

In: Trevor Hanson, Brian Pochmara

Out: Dave Jackson, Frederick L’Ecuyer,


Derek Amell, Steve Barton, David Brisebois, Scott Cherrey, Michel Cormier, Greg Devorski, Scott Driscoll, Ryan Galloway, Ryan Gibbons, Shane Heyer, Trent Knorr, Brad Kovachik, Matt MacPherson, Steve Miller, Kiel Murchison, Brian Murphy, Jonny Murray, Bryan Pancich, Pierre Racicot, and Mark Shewchyk.

Standby linesmen for the first round are Vaughan Rody and Tony Sericolo

In: Ryan Gibbons, Trent Knorr, Kiel Murchison

Out: Derek Nansen, Tim Nowak, Jay Sharrers (injured)



Referee Trevor Hanson and linesmen Ryan Gibbons, and Trent Knorr are making their postseason debuts.


Back In The Saddle

Brian Pochmara and Kiel Murchison suited up for the playoffs in the past but missed the cut last year.

Who’s Missing

Referees not taking part in this year’s playoffs include: Ghislain Hebert, Dave Jackson (injured), Tom Kowal, TJ Luxmore, Jon McIsaac, Dean Morton, Kendrick Nicholson, Garrett Rank, and Justin St. Pierre.  Linesmen on the sidelines are Shandor Alphonso, Devin Berg, Lonnie Cameron, Brandon Gawryletz, Darren Gibbs, Brian Mach, Tim Nowak, Jay Sharrers, and Mark Wheler

Referee Mike Leggo’s retirement leaves him out of the playoff lineup.

The referees splitting time between the AHL and NHL – Jake Brenk, Tom Chmielewski, Pierre Lambert, Dave Lewis, Peter MacDougall, Evgeny Romasko, Chris Schlenker, Furman South, and Cameron Voss – are also off the playoff roster. Look for them to be working in the AHL’s Calder Cup Playoffs.   Same with linesmen Ryan Daisy, John Grandt, and Kory Nagy.

NHL Series Supervisors

Also keeping an eye on things will be the NHL’s Series Supervisors, onw of whom is assigned to each playoff series. This year’s supervisors are Paul Devorski (NSH/CHI), Don Koharski (CBJ/PIT), Bill McCreary (BOS/OTT), Mick McGeough (TOR/WSH), Rod Pasma (NYR/MTL), Rob Shick (SJS/EDM), Don Van Massenhoven (CGY/ANA), and Kay Whitmore (STL/MIN).


Congratulations to all officials selected to work the 2017 NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs