How do you score a goal in hockey? You shoot the puck over the line and into the net. Pretty simple, right?

On Saturday, San Jose’s Joe Thornton scored a goal without ever having the puck cross the line.  Heck – he didn’t even bother to shoot!

How does that work?  It’s covered under Rule 57 – Tripping:

57.4 Awarded Goal – If, when the opposing goalkeeper has been removed from the ice, a player in control of the puck (or who could have obtained possession and control of the puck) in the neutral or attacking zone is tripped or otherwise fouled with no opposition between him and the opposing goal, thus preventing a reasonable scoring opportunity, the Referee shall immediately stop play and award a goal to the attacking team.

Referee Trevor Hanson was right on top of the play as Nashville’s Filip Forsberg took out Thornton with a diving trip.  He blew the whistle and awarded the goal, sealing the 4-1 win for the Sharks.