What exactly were referees Ghislain Hebert and Tom Kowal looking at?  They both missed this hit in tonight’s Bruins/Panthers game — a clear elbow by Winchester which is obviously a penalty.

WinchesterElbowKelly

Jesse Winchester, expect a phone call tomorrow.

Kelly was not injured and did return to the game, but that doesn’t mean Winchester should escape supplemental discipline. The severity of an injury may be a factor, but this is clearly suspension-worthy regardless of the outcome.  If the league doesn’t punish hits like these – dangerous, but without serious injury – they’ll never get headshots out of the game.

(stick-tap to /r/hockey and Redditor westdot1987)