Czechs’ Goal Shouldn’t Have Counted vs. Sweden

Czech forward Jaromir Jagr scored an amazing one-handed goal against his former Rangers teammate Henrik Lundqvist, currently tending goal for Team Sweden.   It was impressive…  but it shouldn’t have counted. Tomas Plekanec, captain of the Czech squad, was pushing his way into the crease. Unlike in the NHL, there’s very little tolerance for players in the crease.  The IIHF rulebook spells it out: Rule 471.a.4 – DISALLOWING A GOAL No goal shall be allowed […] if an attacking player stands or holds his stick in the goal crease when the puck enters the goal net, unless he has been...

Read More