When you’re in the penalty box, there’s nothing you want more than to get back out on the ice. Minnesota Wild forward Ryan Carter was so excited to get back out there, he got into the action before actually leaving the penalty box.

With his penalty expired, Carter stepped one skate on the ice.  Seeing the puck coming his way, he turned his skate to deflect it towards the offensive zone.  You can’t do that. When you’ve still got one skate in the box, that’s a penalty.

NHL rule 56.2, Interference, states, in part:

A minor penalty shall be imposed on any player on the penalty bench who, by means of his stick or his body, interferes with the movements of the puck or any opponent on the ice during the progress of the play. In addition, should a player about to come onto the ice, play the puck while one or both skates are still on the players’ or penalty bench, a minor penalty for interference shall be assessed

You don’t see that often – the last time we had this call was nearly a year ago when Boston’s Dougie Hamilton played the puck from within the penalty box.

Carter went from putting one skate on the ice to having both back in the box for another two minutes.

Referees for the game were Dean Morton and Gord Dwyer.